You are not logged in.
http://eeedownload.asus.com/home
I have tried to download and try out some the software from here but all I'm getting is a file with a .cnr extension.
Is there any information on how to install the progs on the forum anywhere?
Cheers.
Offline
There is sure a lot of interesting software there -- this is what it says --
* Install software and multimedia in just one click
* Choose from 3,432 software applications
* Choose from 148 audio and video files
* Currently supports OS version 1.1 and up
-- but with absolutely no installation instructions ! Is this for a Windows XP machine or Xandros- who knows ?
Last edited by danMdan (2008-08-23 5:20:45 am)
Offline
CNR stands for Click 'N Run it's the system used for installing stuff on the linspire linux distro although it can supposedly work on any distro.
http://linuxhelp.blogspot.com/2007/01/c … lling.html
I don't know how you use it with xandros though.
Offline
But the web page referred to by "hotspot" is clearly headed by a prominent "Eee" logo and the familiar - "Easy to learn --" etc. wording - there is nothing on the page to suggest that it is NOT for the Eee. Just look at the URL -- http://eeedownload.asus.com/home
Last edited by danMdan (2008-08-23 7:10:08 am)
Offline
I never meant to imply that this wasn't for the EEE, apologies if it sounded like that. I was just explaining what CNR was,like I said it can be used with other distributions and from the look of it Asus have decided to release things for the EEE in that format.
The .cnr files seem to be some sort of config file for downloading the actual files. A quick google suggests you need a cnr-client program which presumably then uses this file to do the actual downloading and installing, no idea where you get this from though an apt-cache search doesn't turn anything up.
Last edited by Ian M (2008-08-23 7:16:13 am)
Offline
So how on earth is any new Eee user supposed to know or do all this without a single word of explanation from Asus whose "Eee" logo features so prominently on the original web site ?
Last edited by danMdan (2008-08-23 7:21:01 am)
Offline
Another bit of googling reveals that xandros now own linspire so perhaps the xandros repositories contain the client. I haven't got those in my sources so I can't check that though.
Seems very odd that Asus would make these available without any obvious way of installing though. Some of the programs listed are a bit odd as well for example frozen bubble and mplayer are already included with the original OS so why would you want to install them again. Some of the stuff, mplayer for example has linspire branding on it when you click the link.
It's all very odd ![]()
Last edited by Ian M (2008-08-23 7:26:32 am)
Offline
Seems very odd that Asus would make these available without any obvious way of installing though.
More than odd - utterly useless I'd suggest. A great machine, awful support !
Offline
It's very strange. I have a button on the Internet page of my new 901 that takes me to that site.
It may as well take me to the moon for all the good it does. ![]()
Shame as there are some interesting apps there.
Offline
Linspire itself was another perversion of Debian (like Xandros and Ubuntu) so there's a remote chance cnr will work some day. For today, I don't know (and I'm not about to try it)
.
Does make you wonder what on earth Asus are pratting about at though.
Offline
I think I might have an answer. The page says you need OS version 1.1 to use the site, so I guess that version includes CNR support.
Last edited by Ian M (2008-08-23 7:45:24 am)
Offline
OS version 1.1 in what ? 701 ? 900 ? 901 ? Some notes on the page would help. Do Asus ever sit an untrained user down with their little marvel and see if that person can understand their instructions and get updates, new BIOS, extra software, etc. to work ?
Last edited by danMdan (2008-08-23 8:46:54 am)
Offline
I signed up to see if that would make any difference. No luck. They sent me a mail with access code from "no-reply@cnr.com". The clue's in the addy I think.
Complete and utter waste of time.
Offline
Anyone out there with a connection to Asus ?
Offline
You can check the OS version of your Eeepc in the [Settings] > [System Info] tab. Mine is 1.0.x
Offline
New 20GB Linux 900 here; have version 1.1.0.66
Signed up and downloaded KMyMoney but don't know how to install it. A file is downloaded whose contents are:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <cnr-client> <site-id>eeedownload.asus.com</site-id> <product-id>17613</product-id> <product-name>KMyMoney</product-name> <action>INSTALL</action> <user-auth-token>A6C6D98F-63F0-2C07-AF64-CD66C1352914</user-auth-token> </cnr-client>
Offline
You can check the OS version of your Eeepc in the [Settings] > [System Info] tab. Mine is 1.0.x
Where is this in advanced desktop, please ? I have searched, but not discovered yet.
Last edited by danMdan (2008-08-23 11:36:40 am)
Offline
Just a thought, but could it possibly be that Asus may perhaps in the future be replacing their horrendously buggy "Add/Remove" item in the Easy Mode menu with the Click 'N' Run service instead, now that Xandros owns Linspire?
Offline
One can only hope!
Offline
I don't know if it really is a good thing , this one click and install ; this week Linux Mint servers , who use the same way of distributing software , got hacked , and a trojan discovered .
http://www.linuxmint.com/
http://www.linuxmint.com/blog/?p=235
So , yes it's an easy way of installing software , but a wide opened door to bad things .....
Last edited by oupsemma (2008-08-23 1:58:49 pm)
Offline
oupsemma, that seems to be something purely relating to their website being exploited, causing people visiting it on Windows machines to end up with a Windows trojan - it doesn't seem to be anything to do with their software installation method (please correct me if I'm mistaken, though).
You are only at risk of being infected by the trojan if you used Windows when you visited us.
The exploit managed to install an iframe on hour site that connected to a server in Hongkong. As someone in the forum did notice this iframe could make some unwanted connections, but that did not mean you were infected (Windows users apart)
EDIT: I just saw this in one of the comments from their team;
Sean: pinoc is just one dummy domain used by the hackers to spread the trojan. The packages are fine and the repository for Elyssa is on a separate server.
(Emphasis mine.
)
Last edited by Sage_Harpuia (2008-08-23 2:36:09 pm)
Offline
Here's the CNR web site; I'm not brave enough to download it and try it out.
CNR Web Site
Offline
Sage_Harpuia wrote:
oupsemma, that seems to be something purely relating to their website being exploited, causing people visiting it on Windows machines to end up with a Windows trojan - it doesn't seem to be anything to do with their software installation method (please correct me if I'm mistaken, though).
Forwarned is forarmed , isn't it ?
Passwords , firewalls , anti-viruses , all sorts of precautions and good sense above all should prevail .
Offline
Grrrr! Virus protection was one of the main reasons I went for the Linux version Eee. Looked like the easiest way to get Linux and portable computing.
Offline
Personally, I think viruses are hyped up by the anti-virus software companies and the trojans on that site only affected Windows so RELAX and be glad you have Linux.
Offline